i get in the zone during a massage…don’t you?

In my humble opinion, getting a good massage means your massage therapist gets in the zone and hopefully you do, too!  I happen to feel that I give my best massages when I get out of my own way.  Oh sure there are a lot of anatomy and tissue issues that need dealing with, but I find that when, like with the Yellow Book (okay so I just dated myself there) I let my fingers do the walking, they’re more than capable of finding knots that need kneading, and tension that needs calming.

IT’S LIKE A DANCE.

I remember way back in massage school, during my massage practical final exam, the precise moment when I just let go.  I swayed as I worked the legs, and lunged as I massaged the back.   I just figured, what the hell, I’ve come this far so it is what it is at this point.  My instructor who had walked around the classroom grading everyone told me watching me was like watching a dance.  At that moment I didn’t exactly know if that was a good thing, until she smiled.  I had passed my final exam!

 

Leave a comment